Rummaging For Revenue
Right now in Oregon, if you get caught using your cell phone while driving without a hands free device, it's going to cost your $250. One Oregon lawmaker wants to QUADRUPLE it!
Oregon Senate President Peter Courtney has introduced legislation increasing the penalty for using a cell phone while driving. Senate Bill 9 would quadruple the fine for drivers using a hand-held cell phone.
"The one thing you are saying, if you come into the state of Oregon and you text on your cell phone while you are driving a car, you take your chances because if you get hit it is going to cost you $1,000 dollars," said the democrat from Salem.
The bill also calls for roadside signs warning about the dangers of distracted drivers.
This feels like an attempt to do nothing more than bring in some extra cash for a State that's already short on cash. There were 4,000 drivers that got pegged for illegal use of a cell phone while driving, which netted the State of Oregon a whopping $1 million. I'd be willing to guess that if they quadruple the fine, they will also be handing out more of these fines.
I'm not in favor of anyone using their cell phone in a manner that would impair their ability to drive, but I'm also not in favor of a government trying to make a little extra coin by exploiting the citizens of Oregon.
It's not the just cell phones that distract drivers. It's the breakfast burrito, the coffee, and, in some cases, the makeup or newspaper that distract drivers. It's time for a more encompassing law for distracted driving