Oregon Sends First Set of Rules to Marijuana Dispensaries | 101 KXL

Oregon Sends First Set of Rules to Marijuana Dispensaries

Written by Steve Herman on December 12, 2013
med-pot

A 13 member committee from the Oregon Health Authority is releasing details of how marijuana dispensaries will operate within the law. They have been hammering out the details since September, and Wednesday owners received an outline of what they will need to do to become a legal business.

And it isn’t cheap.

Owners will be able to apply for licenses starting March 3rd. The state will charge $4,000 a year for the operating license. Dispensaries will need to keep electronic records that are required to be encrypted. Owners will need to build separate, secure rooms to receive product from other growers and locations. And everyone responsible for a facility will need to pass a background check. No two dispensaries will be able to operate within a 1,000 feet of each other.

It’s still unclear whether cities and counties can ban dispensaries.

Posted Under: Health News, Local Headlines, Today's Top Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>



© 2014 Alpha Broadcasting - All Rights Reserved. 1211 SW 5th Avenue, Suite 600 Portland, OR 97204 | 503-517-6000
Advertise | Careers | Contest Rules | Privacy Policy | EEO Report | Terms Of Use